DesignedbyLara.com

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

One Hit Wonder Book Review *Elyssa Patrick*


Synopsis: Jane Timmons has two weeks to . . .

1. Keep her distance from her sexy boss, the once famous pop singer, Damon Suarez.

2. Stay firm. No kissing allowed!

3. And not let Damon know she loves him.

Damon Suarez has two weeks to . . .

1. Convince Jane to not quit.

2. Stage a comeback and be more than a one hit wonder.

3. Win Jane's heart—no matter what it takes.

 

Elyssa Patrick’s novella, One Hit Wonder is an easy, breezy read with a very colorful character in that of pop singer, Damon Suarez. Damon is a cheeky fellow who doesn’t take life too seriously. For all serious maters, he has his assistant, Jane to make him act like an adult when it’s needed. Jane has decided she wants to move onto something different and hands in her resignation, which comes as a complete shock to Damon. He can’t understand why Jane would leave him, especially since he treats her so well. Damon now has two weeks to work on keeping Jane in his employ, and as he pulls out all the stops, he begins to see her in a different light. While in New York City, Jane lets down her hair so to speak, and welcomes Damon to show her the fun things in life which ends up with them both back in a hotel room together for the night. Talk about a further complication for Jane who hides her true feelings for Damon deep inside.

I adore romances with celebrity singing sensations, especially one like Damon who’s a really nice guy (think a cuddly, but hot and sexy teddy bear). He has an ego, and is a ladies’ man, per his lifestyle, but he treats Jane with the utmost respect and values her. Jane keeps her heart safely guarded and has placed walls around her. It’s up to Damon to break them down, which he does with pleasure.

One Hit One Wonder is a cute and sexy read. The banter between Damon and Jane is great, especially from Damon because he loves to ruffle Jane. I would have loved to see this as more a full length novel because there are a few instances that needed more clarification. The big love scene was pretty good, but I wanted more. I felt it was a bit too quick to help establish the bond and attraction Damon and Jane have for one another. But overall, this should interest fans of contemporary romance, and reader who like an unique and quirky love interest for the button up heroine.

Elyssa has a great contemporary romance voice and I can see readers who enjoy Jill Shalvis, Julie James and Victoria Dahl liking Elyssa's voice. At .99 cents, One Hit Wonder is well worth the read. (Self-Published, .99 cents)

Final Grade: B

A few other One Hit Wonder reviews:
Guilty Pleasures
Romance Around the Corner
What I'm Reading

Katiebabs

1 comments:

Mandi said...

I thought this was really cute